The Storyteller - the wit and wisdom of Frank Coughlin
 
One of my great fears in being a writer, concerns having ideas about what to write about. However, it is not lack of ideas that worries me. It is the opposite: having too many ideas. I find that when I get an idea about a good story, I also get several other ideas that come trailing after it.

It is as if I have opened the door to wherever ideas come from and I cannot seem to get it closed again. Don’t get me wrong,  I like ideas but when they come to me in a constant stream while I am trying to fall asleep, and hours pass and still they are forming right in front of my tired little eyes – I don’t like ideas as much.

There must be a creative balance – a control through which one can turn on or turn off the flow of ideas, but as of this moment I do not have it. This morning I once again opened the door to the collective unconscious (as Jung called it) and I came out with a positively great idea for a story. It involves a preteen little girl who starts finding notes all over the place. The notes describe a crime and how it was accomplished. They are written by the person who did the deed. And signed too.

The problem is now I have ideas for half a dozen new stories (and more are coming – this I know). I do not know what to do with them so I decided to store them on this website in a sub-page called ideas – new born stories without form yet.

I know this might be a silly solution but it is the best one I have for now because I do not want to turn off my flow of ideas – not yet anyway. When the website people begin to crab at my about not having enough space to store them – then I will start to think of a new way to deal with this problem.

I just hope I don’t get too many of those ideas.

P.S. I hope to use this blog as a way to share ideas and how I went about constructing a story and also a way to let out my passion for writing. See ya later - Frank




Leave a Reply.