The Storyteller - the wit and wisdom of Frank Coughlin
 
She bent over to me as I sat at my desk - her blouse was provocatively half unbuttoned. "I can teach you," she whispered into my ear. She pursed her lips and gently blew over the surface of my face. Her scent of lavender was all around me, pulling me to her lips. "I know all about hooking." she whispered. I was young, eager, and ready to learn. In the course of the next hour I learned and learned. 
One of the first lessons that I tell my writing students is about the hook. The hook of course refers to the reason (or lure) why the reader of your story needs to read further. The hook can range from a word to a whole paragraph. It can even be a whole first chapter - it depends upon the writer.
 I, myself, prefer to use multiple hooks. One can be the first paragraph with the next few paragraphs setting up a larger major hook. Even if the I am writing an essay or a blog - there is need to keep the reader entranced. The first paragraph here is a hook. I am teasing the reader, dr0pping hints as to what is to follow.
"There is so much to learn," she sighed as she puffed on her cigarette, "but today you have done well. I think I will teach you more tomorrow." I raised my hand to protest. "My dear teacher," I sighed muskily, "I am ready to practice what I have learned again."
She smiled and put out her fag. "Then let's get to it." she said huskily.

Yes, today I must try to come up with a good hook for my new story. The problem is the beginning has two letters (postal letters) to be read. I think that I need to install a premise - such as the person reading the letters - tell why she needs to reread these letters. I think that the letters alone will not be a good enough hook. And so that is why I am practicing write hooks in this blog.
Suddenly, there was a noise coming from the front door of the apartment. A key was turning in the lock. She gasped "Oh my God, I think my husband is home!" True to her words, a man opened the front door and announced "Honey, I am home!" in a loud voice.
The hook makes the reader what happens next. Some readers are savvy enough to skip the educational parts but most are not and that is what I am counting on here - that you will keep reading. In the short story, the hook is essential to keeping the reader engrossed (or not bored). The key to good writing is to keep the reader engaged.

Sadly, this afternoon affair, had to come to an end. I had no idea she was attached to another but to be honest I did not care. The bedroom window was already open, as it was a hot day and she was fast enough to dump my clothes after me out the window. Luckily, there were enbough bushes for me to dress but unluckily they were thorn bushes. Still I was feeling no pain. And that semester, I did get an "A" in creative writing.

I had learned my lessons about hooking. Always have a backup plan and an escape from the perils in mind. I still using her lessons in my writing to this very day.


Not a true story but hey it kept you reading unti




Leave a Reply.