The Storyteller - the wit and wisdom of Frank Coughlin
 
Picture
I have my whole day laid out in front of me- this then that and a couple more things.
But A funny thing happened when I opened up my creative instincts - the child wanted to play. Yes, my inner child wanted to play.

Some people consider this a good thing and I am one of them. However, the child playing can get in the way of what the adult wants to do. The trick is in forming a balance of both. Yes, you can have it all.

You just have to take the right approach. (Hint - avoid thinking in black and white -> there is more to any choice than just this or that). So it is with writing.
To be creative, the writer must engage the magical genius child within. It takes the adult to make sense of it all - or to package it (your output) into something someone else might understand, relate to or be entertained by. To achieve this balance takes practice - the adult wants to control everything and so does the child. Each must learn that the other provides a valuable service - get them both to work together and you have magic.
If  one begins to dominate the other, you will notice. The child will have a tantrum and refuse to do anything worthwhile and the adult will just walk away. These are easy to spot.
The adult needs to feel needed. Let the adult sit there and watch - the child will acknowledge her/him and will ask for help when needed. This is the balance. It is after all an adult world. But a playful one too.
Keep practicing and you will get there - balance of the parent/child inner parts. I am still practicing. I do not know if there is such a thing as mastering this, but I am getting better at it - so that is why I say keep practicing.






Leave a Reply.